Bear - Third Grade

Third Grade    or 8-9 Yrs

Den Size    no more than 8 in a Den

Our Goals   In the Bear Den, there are four general achievement groups: God, Country, Family, and Self. There are 120 achievement tasks and your Bear Cub must earn a certain number of achievements in each of the four groups to earn his Bear Badge.  This is the year your son will grow in amazing ways. After earning their Bear Badge, the scout may earn arrow points by completing additional achievement tasks.

Summary Much of the advancement for the Bear rank is done by the scout with his family outside of the den.  The parent signs off in the scout's handbook and the Den Leader records the advancements from the handbook in our tracking Software.  The Bear program relies heavily on family involvement, but you will see this gradually change with the scout doing more with his den and more individual direction as he graduates to Webelos. 

Ready to join? Then you probably have some questions. Email and leave your phone number and Diane will get back with you as soon as possible.

Contact the Leaders

In Cub Scout packs, Akela is a symbol of wisdom, authority, and leadership. Akela is anyone who acts as a leader to the Scout.  Akela can be a Cubmaster, Den Leader, Teacher or Parent depending on where the guidance takes place. In den meetings, it is the Den Leader who is Akela.  During pack meetings it is the Cubmaster.  At home, the parents fill this role.

Below is a list of Akela who make Pack 22 great for the scouts.  Please contact any of us if you have questions or comments.

Den Leader  Parent - Frank O'Connor  & Ashley O'Connor


 BSA Religious Emblem Award Programs are located at

Whittling Items that you might need: